Skip to content

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.- Abraham Lincoln

August 13, 2009

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. – Abraham Lincoln

That’s what we want for our kids. Making memories. Living life. Loving life. A memorable childhood. Keith and I were talking the other night and realize that we don’t remember a whole lot of our childhoods. We are trying to intentionally remember some stuff and it’s amazing the little things we do remember but it’s a shame that we can’t remember so much.

We took the girls camping this past weekend. We went to a campground about thirty minutes from home. And yes, we slept in an air-conditioned cabin. We had electricity but didn’t use it other than the air-conditioning. The little girls haven’t ever went camping, so we chose to get a cabin and ease them into camping.

They had a blast! We swam (yes, they had a pool too. Shoot me.), we roasted marshmallows and made smores, we cooked every meal outside on the fire, we lounged around and talked, we played board games, we played in the arcade (Yes, I understand, it’s sounding like we didn’t really go camping but I promise we did. I have the bug bites to prove it.). Katie and Emily were in a marshmallow shooting contest. Emily won and was named The Annihilator. It really was a blast. They can’t wait to go back.

On Monday, we surprised them with a trip to the Nashville Zoo followed by the Rainforest Cafe for lunch! The little girls didn’t know where we were going (Abby found out via her boyfriend’s mom.). The ride up there was hell. Every few minutes you would hear “Are we there yet?” or “How much longer?” and “Plllleeeeeeeaaaaase tell us where we are going.

The zoo was a winner. They loved it. My favorite animal was the giraffe. They are so cool. My favorite time at the zoo? The indoor snake exhibit. Why? Didn’t I tell you it was inside? Air-conditioning.

The Rainforest Cafe was THE winner though. No kidding, Katie has told me about 27 times that “The Rainforest Cafe is the coolest place on Earth!”. Guess she liked it. ;) I loved it. Keith loved it. Abby and Emily loved it. If you haven’t ever been to one, please do. Just make sure to take a fat wallet. We spent nearly $100. Now. We DID have a drink apiece. And we let the kids get cool frozen specialty drinks in souvenir cups. And ordered dessert. But it’s still pricey.

School started back yesterday! I am so excited. I get some peace and quiet. I get to clean my house really good and not have it messed up within five minutes. It doesn’t have to look like pigs live here. Of course, on the weekends we have kids, it will. Yesterday I cleaned the library thoroughly. I cleaned out all the papers on the desk and then organized it. Today I cleaned the living room top to bottom, organized our board games and then put away all the dvds that seem to accumulate when the kids are here and alphabetized them!

I have been getting up at seven for the past two weeks now. Odd, that is how long I have had my sewing machine. Now, some of you might scoff and seven, but you are talking to the chick who normally sleeps till ten and can sometimes sleep till 12. Yeah, I have been sewing. And now that I get up early, clean house early and have no children during the day, you know I am going to sew more often. Before you know it, I will be selling clothes online and you will buy them!

Off to get busy on that.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    August 13, 2009 5:45 pm

    We have a drive thru safari park/petting zoo here that they’d LOVE. You get buckets of food and drive thru. Roll your windows down and the animals come to the car and eat the food from the buckets, stick their heads in your car, slobber all over the sides of it…we had an emu attack our car when we went trying to beat out another one going after our bucket of food. lol We didnt go to the petting zoo part though. Plus theres a campground nearby…hint hint.

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:56 pm

    That really would be awesome!!!!

    Hint huh? Not subtle are you?

  3. Katrina permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:32 am

    I think I still have pics of it up on myspace…can’t remember though.
    the KOA campground is down the road from the safari park and I’m pretty sure they have cabins w/ AC…maybe next summer you guys

  4. Katrina permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:32 am

    could come up and visit.

  5. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    August 18, 2009 9:18 am

    Maybe so. That would be an awesome trip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

