Skip to content

C…..

December 12, 2007

C is for Christmas and Children… and Coraline.

I love Christmas.

I love that, for the most part, everyone is in a better mood.

I hate shopping.

I hate malls. 

Online shopping is the greatest invention ever

My tree is up. If you read my survey about Christmas you understand how I feel about trees and how decorating should be handled.   Check it out, yo:

Unlit tree…

Mantle, with stockings hung with care…

 

A lit tree. Can’t you tell the difference?

I could get into a Santa debate.

I could get into a commercialization of Christmas rant.

I could get into a Saying Christmas vs Saying Happy Holidays argument.

I won’t.

I do not believe in Santa.

But…I will not take away a child’s love of magic by not allowing them to believe. 

I hate the commercialization of Christmas.  I am trying really hard to incorporate Christ in all my Christmas traditions.  (Ask me about the amazing book I bought on this subject!)

I am going to tell you Merry Christmas because that is what I believe.  Some of you working at Wal*Mart will have a glimmer in your eye only wishing you could say the same thing back to me. Don’t worry. I get it.  Its sad but I understand.

Children. 

I have three gorgeous, brilliant little girls. 

One isn’t so little anymore though. 😉 She is 12 going on 12.  Read my Abby blog for more on her. 

I have two wonderful step-daughters who call me “Super Chickie Mom” because they are made to feel uncomfortable calling me by anything else (and even told that my name isn’t my name but to use a deviation of it.) 

They are all three going to grow up to be amazing women of the world (if I have anything to do with it). 

Kater is the funniest thing you have ever encountered. She is hyper, silly and giggly. But amazingly funny. 

Emily is the shy quiet one in our bunch. You have NEVER met a kid as loving as Em.  Unless, of course, you have actually met her. Then you know.

I would love to have more children. Unfortunately, I cannot.  God knows that I have all I need.  If I need more, I can volunteer at a hospital’s neo-natal ward. I can volunteer at church. I can volunteer at school.

Perhaps you don’t want children. Perhaps you don’t like them.  That’s fine and its completely your choice.  I will tell you they are a joy. If you don’t have them, perhaps consider adopting one for Christmas just so you can see first hand the life that comes into their eyes knowing they are loved by someone.

On to a lighter subject: Coraline!

 

Such a great book for readers of all ages.  I have read it to the kiddo twice. She has read it on her own twice.  One day soon, I will read it to the wee girls.

“Coraline opened the door a little while after they  moved into the house…”

When Coraline steps through a door to find another house strangely similar to her own (only better), things seem marvelous.

But there’s another mother there, and another father, and they want her to stay and be their little girl. They want to change her and never let her go.

Coraline will have to fight with all her wits and courage if she is to save herself and return to her ordinary life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

