Skip to content

Four for Friday

December 14, 2007

Q1 – Two Birds with One Stone: What two daily, weekly, monthly, seasonal or annual chores would you like to combine into one chore (for instance, cooking dinner and taking out the garbage would be accomplished by just doing one or the other. Likewise, changing the baby’s diapers and doing laundry OR showering and shaving–do one and the other happens witho ut you even lifting a finger)?

Doing laundry (washing, folding and putting it away) combined with shaving.  I swear, I hate both of those more than anything.

Q2 – Squeamish: What is one thing thatmakes you absolutely squeamish?

Watching certain scenes on Nip/Tuck. Seriously. I’m not typically squeamish but seems like its getting worse the older I get.  I can’t stand seeing them proddiing up under someone’s skin sucking out fat.  I also gag cleaning up anyone’s puke except my kiddo’s.

Q3 – Effort: Juma Ikangaa, a world-class marathon runner from Tanzania, once said, “The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare.” Do you agree?

Absofreakinloutely.  How can you expect to win at something if you aren’t able to put the effort into it to prepare?  I mean, come on, how am I going to win the Jeopardy Battle of the Champions if I don’t prepare by reading every encyclopedia, dictionary, biography and history book AND eat my Wheaties?

Q4 – College: If you went to college, which turned out to be more beneficial to you today: the social experiences in which you participated or the academic training?

I have attended college a few times now.  I have never, ever sat in a college classroom.  However, I feel that the social experiences would have been super beneficial to me. I think I only say that because I feel that no matter what you learn from a book, the real reason you get the degree is so you can prove that you jumped through the academic hoops.  Honestly, I am enrolled (sorta) in school to teach literature.  WHY do I need to take a class in Calculus to get my degree? Why do I need to memorize random facts that I am never going to be called upon to recall again?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    December 14, 2007 7:20 pm

    I totally agree there-why do you need a bunch of math/science to go in to a field that includes neither? You don’t. I guess its just the idiots in charge trying to make sure we’re all well rounded.

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    December 15, 2007 12:36 am

    Just making sure we jump through the hoops, baby, through the hoops.

Leave a Reply

