Skip to content

And To All A Goodnight

December 28, 2007

So, we are back from Maine (for those of you I haven’t spoken to).

For pics of everything, check here:  Free Photo and Video by myphotoalbum.com 

(I am too lazy to load them all to photobucket then to here.)

We arrived and had 14 inches of snow on the picnic table out back.  The very first thing the girls did was climb on top of the table and flop backwards (they didn’t fall very fall, believe me) into snow angels.

Then came sledding.  Being the gimp that I am right now, I sat in the car and cried because my kiddos were out there experiencing all this stuff and I didn’t get to experience it with them.  I bawled. Ask my dad. I called him crying and it takes a LOT for me to call Daddy crying.

Later that night we met up with some friends.  Some old, some new.  Sean came over for dinner and we went out drinking with him afterwards (this was the first time for me to meet Sean in person…. he had some interesting tales to tell. I laughed at people with him.  People think they can “win” others over into “their” friendship camp.  Whatever.  *rolleyes*).  Then we left him and met up with Justin and Frank.  I must say, I had more fun with them in an hour than I did the rest of Christmas vacation – almost.  They are the greatest. We are making plans to perhaps meet up with them in New Orleans come February! (What happens in The Big Easy in February?)

The next morning, we attended Christmas chuch services.  It was a weird church.  I was not impressed.  We had quite a busy day afterwards: big lunch and birthday cake for Keith’s birthday, ice skating, The Magic of Christmas orchestra and chorus performance, and then headed off with my brother and sister-in-laws for a night of drinks and TV.  It was nice to sleep on a bed instead of a pull out couch!

Let me just tell you – all three girls ROCKED the ice skating.  It was awesome.  I thought they would be all over the floor – on their knees and faces – but no, they rocked! 

The Magic of Christmas was the orchestra and choral presentation that my FIL was in.  So was David Burnham.  He is starring on Broadway in Wicked as Fiyero.  Being a huge fan of that book AND Broadway, I was highly impressed.  The Portland Ballet performed a SWING/JAZZ version of a portion of the Nutcracker. It was really nice to get out and have a nice night on the town with the whole family.

The next morning, we woke at the BIL/SILs house.  BIL and Keith went to BIL’s Hockey Practice (he is the coach). Keith got to run drills with the kids and had a freakin blast.   SIL and I hung out and then we all headed over to the ski lodge.  Everyone skied.  Abby HATED it.  She wasn’t very good at it.  Katie RULED.  Emily was ok but didn’t love it or hate it.  Keith, of course, did fantabulous!  During part of that time, I went shopping with SIL for last minute gifts and stocking stuffers.  After all that we ran home to wrap everything last minute and sleep.

CHRISTMAS MORNING!!!

Guess what we did? Woke up too early!

Had breakfast, opened stockings, waited on BIL and SIL to show up and open real gifts.

The highlight reel for gifts:
Me: The Kitchen Cabinets!!! A red pea coat that I have been asking for, red chucks, a version of the book Lamb by Christopher Moore made out to look like a Bible, The Gunslinger graphic novel (that Keith and I each bought for each other without knowing), a really cool “Wicked StepMom” coffee mug,

Keith: A Star Wars video game, The Gunslinger Graphic Novel, black chucks, the kitchen cabinets, a really cool “Wicked StepDad” coffee mug and   A DOG!!!!!!!!

Katie: A Barbie MP3 player, clothes

Emily: A Barbie MP3 player, clothes

Abby: A MP3 player, clothes gift cards

All girls: A WII!!!!! We got a great deal from a fantastic friend on her Wii and tons of games.

A trampoline from Grandma and Grandpa

Video games, Webkinz from Aunt and Uncle

Tickets to see Hannah Montana/Jonas Brothers movie in 3D (from the rocking Mom/Wicked Stepmom)

There was a ton of other crap, but I don’t remember it all.

If you really read all this, I am impressed.

I hope you had a great Christmas and that you are busy making resolutions that will stick.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    December 31, 2007 10:22 am

    I’ll have to send you a pic of the awesome chucks I got…Erin and I now have matching shoes they’re so awesome. hehe

Leave a Reply

