Skip to content

Why Did I Go To A Conference On Human Trafficking, You Ask?

January 28, 2008

That was another conversation between Abby and I.
I won’t give you the pat little answer of “to help people”.

I lost my virginity to a rape at the age of 16.  Ever since, rape kinda gets to me.  I was reading about the woman in Saudi Arabia who was raped and then beaten for allowing herself to be in a situation where she could be raped. I cried for that woman. There was nothing I could do to help her. 

I started researching ways to help.  I couldn’t come up with anything.  I wanted to adopt every girl who might possibly be put in that situation but come on, how feasible is that? I came across FAAST International – Faith Alliance Against Slavery and Trafficking.  I signed up to volunteer with them.  I was shocked that there are so many slaves in the world – and in our country.  I was then told about a conference being held about an hour away from home on Human Trafficking. I immediately signed up.

Now what am I going to do?
Heck if I know. I have a million ideas in my head but nothing concrete.  As soon as something firms up, I guarantee you will be the first to know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

