Skip to content

The Former Frog, Chronic Fatigue and Getting an Education

March 4, 2008

I thought about blogging three different blogs for each separate topic today. Then decided to heck with it, no one reads this and this is written for me anyway, so I can do whatever I want.

The Former Frog

Apparently, my husband used to be a frog (think in the frog turns into Prince Charming kind of frog).  He never used to help around the house cleaning, organizing, gardening, cooking dinner, doing dishes, doing laundry, helping with the kids, none of that.Somehow, when I got him he changed into a prince. 

He works two jobs. He is in a band that practices at least once a week and, here recently, has shows about once a week.  He does all the laundry.  (And I do mean all of it.  I rarely have to do laundry and when I do, it’s because I feel like it, not because I have to because the kids are wearing dirty socks for the third day in a row.) He helps with dinner in some form or fashion every night. (Sometimes, that might mean just keeping me entertained while I cook, sometimes its keeping the kids entertained when I cook, sometimes its stirring stuff for me, sometimes it’s actually cooking dinner.)  He picks up the dirty clothes off the floor that I leave behind.  He does the yard work and helps me with gardening.  He spends time with the kid reading and playing.  He helps critique my schoolwork. He keeps the kids off my back while I do schoolwork.  When I need to study, he moves everyone to another room and asks for quiet.  He plays games with them so they aren’t constantly chiming in with “Mom/Jenifer, can we have X? Can we do Y?”

Did I tell you how busy the frog is?  He goes to sleep around 8:30 PM.  He gets up around 2AM.  He goes to work his second job.  He gets done there around 6AM and comes home, showers, spends a little bit of time writing on his short (and long) stories and then heads off to his regular job where he works from 7:30 – 4:00 PM, getting home around 4:30.  Granted, he doesn’t have much time to do all the stuff above, but somehow he does it. AND manages to play drums for a really rocking punk band every week.

(If you would like to know WHY he does this, please refer to one of my previous blogs regarding how much money he makes an hour.)

If I get tired after doing schoolwork and don’t get around to doing the dishes, he doesn’t complain. He does them instead.  If I want to spend time on here or out with friends, he takes care of what I normally would have done – and doesn’t complain.  If I am simply feeling lazy, he tells me, “Put down the dish towel/mop/broom/pots and pans and let me take care of it.”

I really am proud of him and I respect what he is doing for our family.  I am thankful he turned into a prince for me. J  

Chronic Fatigue

I am always freakin tired. Always.  I could go to sleep every night at 8:00 PM, sleep till 7:00 AM and still be exhausted.  I yawn all day.  I complain all day about how tired I am.  Now, it very well could be explained away that I work a full time job, go to school full time and play mommy to three beautiful girls.  Did I mention helping with homework, attending parent teacher conferences and working at the school?  Oops… I digress. This isn’t about my great and wonderful accomplishments (rolling eyes).  This is about fatigue.  Back to it. 

So my regular doctor had suggested a sleep study in the past.  I never did it.  Then my shrink suggested it.  Quite a few times.  I didn’t do it.  Then my dentist suggested it (from the grinding of my teeth he assumed I have sleep apnea).  Keith suggested it.  Apparently, I not only grind my teeth in my sleep, I have night terrors, I snore, I stop breathing in my sleep. All that good stuff.  I scheduled an appointment for a sleep study. It was finally approved (good ole’ insurance companies and their approval processes) and I went last night.  If you really want to know what goes on in a sleep study, I will be happy to fill you in, but not on here. This is already too long.

So, I asked one of the techs who was wiring me up if she would be able to tell me in the morning what the study told her. She says “Nope.”  Then I ask the second one (because I’m sneaky like that) and she says “Nope.  But… if there is nothing wrong, you won’t have a second appointment. If you have sleep apnea, you will be called about a second appointment.”  This morning I was woken up at 5:45 AM and told “Hey, we will see you back for your second appointment in about two weeks.”  Woohoo. 

Yes, I really am happy I have sleep apnea.  See, this seems to be the answer to some elusive problem I have had.  And all the complaints I have can be attributed to sleep apnea.  (Wanna know what they are? Ask me. I will tell you.)

Now I get to have a CPAP machine to help me breathe at night.  Keith will find this very romantic, I know.  He probably will take over all the household duties because he will be so wooed by my loveliness in my mask.  The bottom line? I will have energy again. I can stay up late writing papers and not feel like someone has pulled me from the bottom of the Chickamauga Lake after having been shot and had cement blocks placed on my feet.  Woohoo for sleep apnea. 

Getting an Education

My friend Marcy told me a few months back that the key to getting your degree wasn’t getting an education but being able to jump through all the hoops the school provided. She is right. 

I got a call yesterday from my guidance counselor.  He needed to meet with me.  He had today or tomorrow available (What a notice, eh?).  I chose today since I was already going to be late for work due to the sleep study anyway.  He chit chatted with me.  He made small talk.  He asked what my grades were so far (A’s and B’s, thank you very much).  I think he just wanted to let me know that the school no longer is offering an education degree for high school education. They are still offering the degree in elementary education but I wanna teach high school! (Hear the whine? I need some cheese.)  

So I have a couple of options.  When I finish this degree I can a) choose to teach elementary school and go to school in regular classes at my current school– as opposed to my online education that I now receive, b) transfer to the other local college, major in English, minor in Eduation and attend regular classes – they don’t offer education classes online there or c) see if I can find a university somewhere in Tennessee that will allow me to satellite in via their online classes and finish my degree that way.  *sigh* 

 I honestly don’t see how I will be able to do anything other than attend “regular” college. I have never sat in a college classroom. I won’t know how to act.  I really don’t like this idea. I like being able to work around my regularly scheduled duties of Mom Extraordinaire, Librarian Supreme, VBS Leader, Terrific Wifie, Super Chickie Mama, Full Time Worker Bee and Goddess of All.  The way I am leaning right now is to attend the other college, get my English degree, work second shift and attend classes in the day.

Thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    March 5, 2008 4:45 pm

    Ok response one-I’m still wondering what the hell happened to Keith??? What kind of spell did you cast on him? Please tell me what it is!

    Sleep apnea? Or could it be depression related? Did it ever improve when you’ve been on meds? You always keep going no matter how tired you are and I don’t know how you do it.

    Now on to the third topic-I think you could pull off classes in the daytime/work in the evening, or possibly working from home (hsn.com is hiring customer service reps to work at home)…I couldn’t do it, but I’m lazy and easily distracted/frustrated.

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    March 7, 2008 10:49 am

    Lol! I don’t know what I have done to him but its great let me tell you!

    Sleep apnea LEADS to aggravation of depressive symptoms. They are all inner-mingled. It has never improved. Hopefully when I have the second test (next weekend), they will put me on a machine and it will help.

    Thanks!

    What is hsn.com?

  3. Katrina permalink
    March 7, 2008 2:16 pm

    home shopping network-they’ve got a big warehouse here but were hiring people to work/train from home. not sure if its local to here only or if they’re hiring nationwide

  4. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    March 7, 2008 4:50 pm

    Hmmmm interesting. I need to check that out.
    Email me if you know of something?

Leave a Reply

