Skip to content

101 Things About Me

March 6, 2008

I decided to do this ‘100 Things About Me’ thing because I read some others and I felt like I was having wine with the folks who wrote them. And damn do I love wine.  

  1. I am blessed.
  2. I am the oldest of 3 children.
  3. I am the only girl. 
  4. I have 3 step brothers and 1 half brother in addition to my birth brothers.
  5. Because I grew up with so many boys, I received boy toys as gifts.
  6. I didn’t have a birthday cake until I was in my twenties.
  7. Prior to that, I had had two birthday parties.
  8. I started cooking the family meal at 12.  All of it.  Every day.
  9. My mother used to take in foster kids.
  10. Edited because I try to love people now.
  11. I love my family something fierce.
  12. I am pro-choice and have experienced the horror of an abortion.
  13. I have experienced the horror of a rape.
  14. I have battled a bi-polar disorder for at least 12 years.
  15. I have been depressed severely enough to seriously contemplate suicide.
  16. I imagined my funeral, and the sadness of my family members and decided I couldn’t do that to them. I lived for them for a few years.
  17. I am a natural redhead. I dye my hair various shades of red because I bore easily.
  18. There are angels. I do not doubt that one bit.
  19. And ghosts. I know this.
  20. My Mom’s Mom and I have a very special bond. I wish she were my mom.
  21. I have a very special bond with my stepmom.  I almost wish she were my mom.
  22. Marriage is not all sunshine and flowers. In fact, I would say it was fucking hard work.
  23. I have never seen my husband cry.
  24. I don’t think I’ll ever be too old to hear my Dad say he’s proud of me.
  25. My husband is my #1 fan. And I am his.
  26. I had a loooooooong life before marriage came along. Sometimes I’m cool with that. Sometimes I’m not.
  27. I didn’t become a Christian till my late twenties.
  28. I loved to climb trees when I was a kid.
  29. My best friends growing up taught me to kiss – on a tree.
  30. My right foot is bigger than my left by a size.  Both my second toes are longer than any of the others.
  31. I won 3rd place in a spelling bee in 6th grade without studying.
  32. I like the smell of gasoline.
  33. I have a scar in my right eyebrow.  I tried to fly off the table and busted my eye open.
  34. I don’t plan ahead very well. Actually, that’s not true. I plan ahead just fine. It’s the execution of the plan that is often the problem.
  35. I have a crush on Joaquin Phoenix. My husband thinks he is ugly. Obviously, I do not.
  36. I take physical, spiritual and emotional comfort from the presence of books.
  37. I prefer eye glasses to contact lenses.
  38. If I could afford it, I would spend the rest of my life in school.
  39. I watch very little TV, and yet will still pay for digital cable so I can watch The Tudors.
  40. I have a hard time comprehending the fact that some people don’t read for pleasure.
  41. I don’t write as often as I should.
  42. I can hold a grudge for way too long.
  43. It is tremendously easy to annoy me. Some people do it by merely existing
  44. I am cynical and suspicious by nature.
  45. Halloween is my favorite holiday.
  46. I dislike being asked to provide the name of my favorite song, film, book, etc – because I find these things change moment to moment.
  47. I prefer to be barefoot.
  48. When a film based on a book comes out, or a movie remake is released, I feel the need to read the book and/or see the original film version, regardless of whether or not I plan to see the remake.
  49. My brain is my own worst enemy; especially when I’m asleep.
  50. Someday I’d like to open my own bookstore.
  51. I readily admit to being a geek. Also a dork, and possibly a nerd – although somehow I fear being bad with numbers precludes me from being a nerd.
  52. I can become bored with a job very easily.
  53. I prefer to be continually challenged.
  54. I am fan of horror fiction (books, film etc) – and my tastes run the gamut from classic suspense to full-on, gorey slasher stuff.
  55. I always have a thing for vampire fiction.
  56. I have a fairly dark sense of humor.
  57. I am a caffiene fiend. Pass the Diet Coke please.
  58. I hate getting gifts. Its very awkward for me.
  59. I have been stalked – in real life, not just online.
  60. I’m messy but not dirty.
  61. If left alone, I can read an entire book in a day.
  62. I constantly reread books.
  63. I have never lived by myself.
  64. I love Diet Cherry Coke more than any other type of soft drink.
  65. I am Cherokee on my mother’s side and Cherokee-Irish on my father’s.  All told, I am ¼ Cherokee.
  66. I think most dolls are incredibly creepy.
  67. I have four holes in my left ear, five in my right, one in each nipple and one Monroe piercing. 
  68. I have two tattoos.
  69. I have plans for at least four more.
  70. I can’t drive a standard.
  71. I can blow bubbles inside of bubbles with bubble gum.
  72. I have long, complicated, vivid dreams nearly every night.
  73. Like Scout from “To Kill a Mockingbird”, I don’t remember ever not knowing how to read. (According to my mom, I actually started to read when I was three years old.)
  74. I hate driving in the rain, especially at night.
  75. I am very impatient.
  76. I have always believed I will die before my 35th birthday
  77. I detest having my picture taken.
  78. I am a dedicated mother.
  79. I can be a good liar.
  80. I cry too easily – but not about my own situations.
  81. I wish with every fiber of my being that I lived next to the ocean.
  82. When I was in elementary school, I made a daily trip to the HS via short bus to take part in a gifted class and learned French.
  83. I can’t speak any foreign language today.
  84. I quit the gifted class because the teachers treated me funny.
  85. I secretly wish I could sew my own clothes.
  86. I puke when cleaning up a child’s puke. Or hearing someone puke. Or thinking about it.
  87. I don’t understand Monty Python movies.
  88. I despise shopping.
  89. I despise malls and crowds.
  90. I have sleep apnea and sleep about 12 hours a day.
  91. I did inhale.
  92. I dislike girlie things.
  93. But I used to want to be a ballerina.
  94. Much to my daughter’s amazement, I can do a cartwheel that ends in the splits.
  95. My gym teacher urged me to take gymnastics. My mom refused.
  96. I talk to myself in my head.
  97. I am not very observant.
  98. I want to be a contestant on Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy.
  99. I love red wines.
  100. I wish I were crafty.
  101. I take medication. I hate it.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    March 6, 2008 10:36 pm

    Too many similarities…I’m sorry we lost touch for a few years.

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    March 7, 2008 10:47 am

    Me too.
    ((((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

