Skip to content

I Am Going to Get Beat Over the Head for This One

October 30, 2008

Mariel suggested this week’s question.

Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

I know I am going to get beat over the head for this one.

It really depends on the book.  For books that I really don’t have respect for:
I am a spine breaker. I immediately break the spine of my books.  I dog ear pages. I tend to spill coffee on the pages and just keep in reading. i read them in the tub.  If they get wet, oh well, they will dry.

For books I saved up money to buy or are really just important to me and know they will end up in my library:
I treat them as a piece of art (they are).  I never dog ear. i won’t break the spine. I use bookmarks. I wouldn’t dream of setting them near the tub.

For library books:
It depends on the condition of the book when I get it.  If the spine is broken and pages are folded down (or worse yet, written in, I will dog ear. If its a newer book, I tend to follow my work of art rules.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2008 9:55 am

    And, see, Mr. Obsessive Compulsive here is the complete opposite. I can read a new book, close it and it doesn’t even look like it’s been opened. There’s a story Salman Rushdie tells that in his house, when you dropped a book, you picked it up and kissed it. Nowadays, with hardcovers setting you back close to $40 sometimes (at least here in Canada) and paperbacks going for more than ten bucks a pop, one is compelled to treat books as things of value.

    Thanks for the post…

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    October 30, 2008 10:02 am

    Oh hardcovers, are absolutely books I respect and I will NEVER EVER crack those spines. I don’t hold paperbacks of “brain candy” books in the same esteem as I do my hardcover of oh say Duma Key.

Leave a Reply

