Skip to content

Addictions

January 31, 2009

I gave up drinking – except for special occasion glasses of wine.

I am trying to give up smoking – it doesn’t work so well.

I gave up (for the most part) all drugs that aren’t prescribed by my doctor. (Good thing he gives me good drugs).

I don’t gamble. I don’t play online games.  I don’t watch TV – I actually got rid of the ones in all our bedrooms because I. just. don’t. like. TV.

But I cannot kick the book addiction. I don’t get it. I have tons of books that I haven’t read yet. I have shelves of books that I have read multiple times and just might read again.  I have books about books. I have books on marriage, books on parenting, books on whether or not Mary Magdalene really got it on with Jesus (She didn’t).

I make lists of books to read.  I make lists of books to order from interlibrary loan.  I make lists of books to buy.  I make lists of authors that I.must.check.out.immediately.  But then I mostly dislike them.

So why the insane need of books? What kind of weird addiction is it?  I love them, don’t get me wrong. But really, how many books does one need?

Wait.

There are never enough books.

Disregard my ramble.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    February 3, 2009 6:01 pm

    I’ve been bad w/ the smoking the last few days. I’ll just blame it on having a super stressful weekend since we moved. I think I’ll spend this weekend going through nicotine withdrawal and hiding in my bedroom.

  2. February 10, 2009 12:21 am

    There’s never enough time to do the things you want to do…..

    plus, there’s never enough books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

