Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Preferences

July 23, 2009
tags: ,

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

* Reading something frivolous? Or something serious?

Depends on the day. For the pool, for the beach and for falling asleep, I read something frivolous. Currently I am reading Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich and The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand.

* Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? I prefer hardcovers for books I know I am going to keep. For light reading, I just head over to the used book store and grab a few paperbacks.

* Fiction? Or Nonfiction? I prefer fiction but read a fair amount of self help books. I have been known to read a biography but not very often. My current Nonfiction is an American History textbook.


* Poetry? Or Prose?
Prose please.
* Biographies? Or Autobiographies? I have no preference.

* History? Or Historical Fiction? Both. Like I said, I am currently reading a History textbook but I love historical fiction

* Series? Or Stand-alones? Both. I love going back to memorable characters but there’s something about a stand-alone when it leaves everything tied up at the end.

* Classics? Or best-sellers? Both. I am currently reading through the Modern Library’s Top 100 Novels. I consider most of those classics. I love best-sellers for my frivolous reading.

* Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Straight-forward, please.

* Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness?
Plot always!!!
* Long books? Or Short? Doesn’t make a difference.

* Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Most of the time non-illustrated. I do like my graphic novels, but it doesn’t feel like “reading” to me.

* Borrowed? Or Owned? I never borrow from friends. I don’t want to mess up or lose their books. However, I love the library and take extra good care of their books.

* New? Or Used?

New for my favorite authors, used for everything else.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

