Skip to content

My Name is Jenifer and I Am an Addict

July 24, 2009

Yeah, that’s right. I am stepping out and admitting it. I am addicted to McKay. In case you don’t know, McKay is a HUGE local used book and CD store. They recently moved to a new location. I love it! Its much bigger inside (all the CDs are upstairs) and you can actually walk down the aisles with a basket of books without hitting the person next to you in the rump.

I went for the first time Sunday. I only bought two books: The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand and The Ten Commandments of Parenting by Ed Young

I went back Wednesday and took a trunkful of books to exchange. I only got $125 in credit. I ended up spending $50 that day. I bought 14 kids books for the girls, a few light reading books for our camping trip: Revolutionary Road, Fried Green Tomatoes and the Whistle Stop Cafe, Rise and Shine. I also bought Twlight for our library (I have bought this book three times now. I keep loaning it out and never getting it back.) And I also bought an American History textbook and the Teacher’s Edition Guide with answers to all the questions and tests in the book. Yeah, I am teaching myself history. I took it in school twice but didn’t get around to finishing the class ever.

I went back today. I spent $80 and didn’t get one thing for me. I bought a Chinese cookbook because Abby wants to learn to cook some more exotic recipes! I bought Keith a motorcyle how to book, Abby 5 books and New Moon (also for the library) and then The Rocky Horror Picture Show on DVD. We can’t find our VHS of it so we bought a new one.

I have already thought of a couple of things I am looking for:

The Mermaid or The Pink Princess of The Fairy Cookbooks. They are for Emily I saw them at Barnes and Noble and want to find them at McKay.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I have checked it out from the library twice now and never got around to reading it. I keep hearing such good things about it, I keep trying to get it via the hold system at the library but the hold list is SO long!

If you happen to have a copy of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo lying around. let me borrow it or take it McKay so I can buy it … even if their prices are ridiculous.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Whine with my Wine permalink
    July 25, 2009 8:55 am

    Enjoyed your blog

  2. Katrina permalink
    July 27, 2009 5:38 pm

    I miss Mckay’s 😦

  3. Katrina permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:34 pm

    oh yeah-I’ve got some history textbooks if you want them, though I’ll probably and wait and bring them down on our next trip instead of trying to ship them!

    • sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
      July 28, 2009 7:35 pm

      Next time you are down, we have to go to the new McKay 🙂

      Sweet! Yeah bring them down when we go to McKay!

Leave a Reply

