Skip to content

Looking Back: The Wedding. Four Years Later. PICTURE HEAVY

July 27, 2009

Since my anniversary is this week, I thought I would write out my memories of the wedding. I have horrid memory issues and medication only makes it worse. Its probably good that I am documenting it now (even if it is a little late) before I completely forget that I ever got married.

We were married on July 30, 2005. We wanted to get married at the beach far far away from here. Sadly, since it was such a rush wedding and we were low on funds, we simply got married at the beach here: Chester Frost Beach. It was not as nice as St. Maarten but made for a pretty durn good wedding.

The night before the wedding, I dyed the girl’s hair with red streaks in the front to match mine:
<a href="Photobucket“>

The wedding was black, red and white. The girls all had matching dresses. They were little sundresses that were white with little red cherries on them. We all went barefoot. Yes. My dress was/is black. That’s what I wanted. When I saw it, I immediately knew. My dad wasn’t too keen on paying for a black dress. Until he saw it on me. Then he didn’t hesitate to pay for it. The ladies at the bridal store DID think that I was buying a bridesmaid dress for someone else’s wedding and could NOT understand why I would wear a black dress. Oh well.
It has this really cool bead work on the top of the front. The same beading is on the back, with a japanese looking button up back.
Photobucket

My MIL made the cake. The topper is one that Keith and I found online. Its a skeleton couple sitting in a graveyard with a tombstone that says True Love Never Dies. It sits on my mantle next to the candelabra we used.
<a href="Photobucket“>

My soon to be (at the time) SIL flew in to help with decorations. She is crafty like that.
<a href="Photobucket“>

My FIL made the Wine Box:
<a href="Photobucket“>

The wine box is a wooden box filled with a bottle of wine (hence the name), two wine glasses and letters to each other telling why we married each other. If we ever think of divorce, we open the box and try to remember the reason we got married and think it over. Otherwise, we open it on our.. anniversary. I forget which one. It was made and at the reception, we nailed the nails in and sealed it up.
<a href="Photobucket“>

The morning of the wedding, I met up with my dad. He gave me away. We stood in the parking lot leading to the beach for a while waiting on everything to be ready. The archway wasn’t in place when we got there and BIL was frantically working to get it up.
<a href="Photobucket“>

Photobucket

Our girls were my flower girls. They were the only people “in” the wedding. I have never wanted bridesmaids or the like.
Photobucket
They weren’t too interested in the wedding, I don’t think. 😉
Photobucket

We wrote our own vows. I must admit, they were pretty durn great too. I ended with a Winnie the Pooh quote! LOL AND Stephen King was quoted in our vows.
Photobucket

I wrote special vows for the girls:
Photobucket

We exchanged our plain and simple silver bands (I would like to get new bands for our next anniversary).
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then we kissed.
Photobucket

I was happy to walk down the aisle a married woman!
Photobucket

Our reception was, like the rest of the wedding, small and very us. I think we only had 29 people at the wedding and reception if my counting and remembrance skills are up to par. We reserved a big covered … ehhhh I dont really know what to call it… a picnic area? There were about 12 picnic tables, restrooms, etc under this one big covering. My mom only stuck around for the official wedding. She didn’t want to stick around for the reception. She didn’t want to hang out with my dad. I won’t ever forget such selfishness. But, this is not a negative blog.

We danced, I think, one song. Go ahead and laugh. It was Shania Twain’s You’re Still the One. Yeah, I hate country but the lyrics really apply to us. And its worked out well, because do you know how many of those cards with music are out there that play that song? a lot.
Photobucket

We had a family unity candle. All the girls lit a candle that Keith and I in turn light OUR candle with.
Photobucket

Then my MIL and Step Mom (the one who actually stayed for the reception, but no mean thoughts of course!) lit a candle and we merged all the candles into one.
Photobucket
That is my MIL lighting “that” side of the family’s candle. If you look at the bottom, you can see the girls’ candles that they lit.

When things got too boring at the reception, the girls ran off and played in the woods.
Photobucket

So did we:
Photobucket

Photobucket

After the wedding, we ran away to a bed and breakfast on Lookout Mountain. The girls all went off with grandparents. The grandparents took the kids home and cleaned the house. The SIL made me an AWESOME photo/scrapbook album of all the pictures she had taken at the wedding and got developed at a one hour photo place. It was terrific. It sits on the mantle next to the wedding cake topper. Thanks Christina!

I didn’t know anything about the B&B. It was quite charming though. Our “real” honeymoon would come a year later in St. Maarten.

I walked in to the bedroom and saw a white bed covered with red rose petals. I liked it a bit.
Photobucket

Keith had champagne and strawberries and the whole nine yards of romanticism going on.

We went out that night.
Photobucket
Hit a Mexican restaurant/bar, ate too much, drank too much and sang too much Karaoke. One song is too much karaoke. but when you are newly weds, I guess it doesn’t matter. We hit it off with a bunch of teenagers and I sang a bunch of songs with them too. Too bad we don’t have pictures of that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

