Skip to content

Simple Lunch

November 10, 2009

If you know me at all, you know that I love to entertain: holidays, birthday parties, dinners, etc. You also should know I am poor and really don’t have the money to entertain the way I want to.

Keith and I decided to open up our doors every Sunday afternoon to anyone in the church who wants to come over to eat lunch. We invited people that we had never met and friends we love this past Sunday to kick it off.

We had been busy Friday and Saturday. My house was a disaster. (You have no idea how MUCH of a disaster. Its still not cleaned up from the bonfire.) We had a meeting right after church on Sunday so there was nothing on the stove waiting on these eight people who were waiting on me when I got home from said meeting.

Did I mention we are poor? I served these lucky folks a pot of potato soup. They ate out of Styrofoam bowls, drank out of Styrofoam cups, ate with plastic spoons and seemed to have a great time.

People ate, drank, talked and stayed for hours.

Amazing how a little love can transform even the simplest of lunches into a feast.

Leave a Reply

