Skip to content

I have friends in overalls whose friendship I would not swap for the favor of the kings of the world. Thomas A. Edison

November 16, 2009

It’s Sunday night. Keith is doing school work. All three of the girls are in bed. Its only 10 PM and this is the first time all week I have experienced silence. Its kinda nice. I’ve been helping Keith with homework, catching up on Facebook and email, and hanging out with God.

I’m thinking back over the week and am just amazed at the friends, old and new, we have. We had a fairly busy week but it was filled with lots of fun and tons of love. Monday was our only “off” night and it wasn’t really off. Abby leads a girls’ small group and I facilitate it and it meets on Mondays @ the Y. And so, you could assume that we were at the Y on Monday. Keith was at the gym for his monthly workout with Andre.

On Tuesday we celebrated the birthdays of our wonderful friends Patrick and Jessi. His birthday was on Monday, hers on Thursday. They brought their daughter Lil with them (instead of leaving her home alone in the closet). We love them. We are child-proofing our home for them. Honestly, I don’t really know what child-proofing a home entails because I didn’t do it with Abby, but I guess I will figure it out.

Meatloaf was on the menu Wednesday as we sat down to eat with Hickerson. For those of you who don’t know the story, I have Hickerson to thank for giving me my husband. He brought Keith down here from Maine to live. Wonderful conversation was had by all. And a great game of Pop 5. Too bad I can’t draw a dang frog to save my life.

I think I forgot to mention that the girls have been with us all week. Keith and I get “14 floating days” in addition to spring break and fall break to be taken during the school year with the girls. We took a few of our days this week. Its been an action-packed, word-filled week (for those of you who know Katie, this needs no explaining). They had their Soccer Awards Ceremony Thursday night. An evening of soccer coaches making fools of themselves. I suppose it could have been a bad night, but honestly it wasn’t, It was entertaining me.

Around 8:33 on Tuesday morning… or maybe it was 8:45… Emily started asking if Keith’s show was kid-friendly. Yup, that’s right. Local Union finally had a show Friday! I don’t think they have played in about six weeks! Keith was really excited and it was a really good show! They seemed to have a great time! The girls enjoyed seeing their dad beating on the drums and acting like a goon.

Speaking of Local Union and birthdays… Tuesday was also Jason’s (Local Union singer) birthday. His girlfriend had called me a couple of weeks ago to see if I would be willing to host a surprise party for him. If you were here reading three blogs ago, you know I like to entertain, so of course I said yes! Fun was had by all and Jason got us all hooked on his little catchy getting to know you game. Come over sometime, we’ll play it.

As for today? Today is the good day! Today is the all day friend day. (Never thought you would see the day where I would like to be around people all the time would you, eh?)

We start off at church where I get to make a child cry. I think its because he was kicking boxes and I told him to stop. Maybe its because I told him something wrong about Noah today (and yes, seriously, that’s what we were learning about). I really don’t know why he cried, but I made him cry and I feel terrible about it. I get to spend the morning with people I really genuinely like.

Then we come home for the Simple Lunch which turned out to be not so simple when, two hours later, lunch still had not been served. Keith and I managed to sneak in a very brief hour nap before small group came over and spent the evening with us.

I’m really happy and content tonight with our life and the way things are headed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

