Skip to content

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

December 3, 2009

Here I am posting about Christmas, and I never posted about our Thanksgiving! For shame!

The first thing we did was get up at 4:45 to work the Grateful Gobbler Walk benefiting The Homeless Coalition. Phew does 4:45 come early! Especially when you stayed up late the night before celebrating the fact that it is a holiday and you don’t have children around. We worked the walk, walked the walk and ran home to cook.

We opened our home up to the church and those who didn’t have family in the area to spend the holiday with. We ended up with fifteen people here! What a turn out.

We had also invited a guy that Keith had met at one of our very first feedings, Randy. Randy doesn’t have a home right now. He and Keith had really connected and then he stopped coming to the feedings. Someone said he got arrested. Then another month someone else confirmed it. Then a couple of weeks ago we saw him. And invited him to dinner. Keith went downtown a few times to try and find him to no avail. We found him over the weekend and he was sorry he missed it. I am too.

I cooked a huge meal. There was wine pouring, food abounding, conversation flowing and did I mention cherry pie being dumped on my front porch? Yes. Thanks to Sarah and Ryan, one of my favoritest Thanksgiving memories will now go something like this…

Chit chatting in the kitchen with Terry (the first to arrive). Putting cheese and crackers out on the table. I hear people coming up the steps and a dull “thunk thunk thunk” that sounds vaguely like someone knocking on my door with their knee. I figured someone had their hands full.

No. Just the opposite , in fact.

I opened the door to a very shamed face Sarah. Who had dropped her GORGEOUS (or so it seemed from what was left) cherry pie down my front steps. It was quite humorous actually. And its not like we didn’t have enough food.

There were no crazy relatives to deal with. The house was cozy, the company was incredible, the food (in my opinion) was just fine and no one choked. How’s that for a good Thanksgiving?


Thanksgiving Chapel, Dallas, TX

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    December 4, 2009 9:13 pm

    Wish we could’ve made it to TN for Thanksgiving again but w/ being SUPER broke and Eric working two jobs right now, it just wasn’t going to happen. Not sure that I could handle Cooper on what would end up being a 7-8 hour roadtrip. lol

  2. sarcasticredheadedgeek permalink
    December 8, 2009 11:21 am

    I wish you could have been here too. We would have had a blast. But know I thought of you quite often as I drank my wine. AND I didnt go to sleep early!

Leave a Reply

