Skip to content

Haiti’s Deal With the Devil

March 12, 2010

I have been back from Haiti for three or four weeks now. Honestly, I am not looking at a calendar. It’s more than likely been four weeks and I just don’t want to admit it. So all this time back and I haven’t written a blog about it yet. I have written a brief summary on Facebook but I had every intention of writing many blogs in great detail about our two weeks in Haiti. I haven’t been busy. I think I just don’t want to put it to bed.

But I do need to get one thing off my chest.

One of the things I learned on my trip was that there is a certain type of person you do not want on a mission trip with you. I’m gonna go ahead and talk pretty openly about it here because it needs to be said. There is a certain type of Christian that I am not down with. These are the Christians that feel the need to beat everyone over the head with a Bible in an attempt to scare people into Heaven. Me? I think we need to love people into Heaven. I don’t think screaming fire and brimstone at you is going to get you to confess your sins. And if it does, chances are good it’s not going to be a life changing event.

There was a man there that took it upon himself to have a little preaching time with the kids at the orphanage on about the third night we were in Haiti. We were all gathered around having a little worship service with some guitars and singing and “D” decided to start preaching. He asked the kiddos “Did you feel the ground shake while you were in bed?” “Did the earthquake scare you?” Things like that. I still don’t see his point.

Then he got to the point of his “sermon”. Apparently God has a bone to pick with Haiti. Ya see, Haiti made a pact with the devil years ago and this earthquake was God’s way of getting even with the people of Haiti. Now, this may be your belief. Or Pat Robertson’s. It’s not mine, but we aren’t here to debate right now, are we? But “D” made sure that children were made aware of this point of view. And he didn’t let them know, hey this is my personal belief. He was preaching the “gospel”. He saddened me to the point of tears.

Why would you teach this to children? They are already scared enough. I lived with them for a week. I saw how they lived. How can they not question God about the situation they are already living in prior to the earthquake? No family. Poverty. Little to no education. A bleak future. And now they have a natural catastrophe to cope with as well. And we, the all mighty Americans, come in and tell them this is punishment from a loving God? If I didn’t know any better, I would tell you to go back home and take your God with you. But thankfully, I know better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    March 12, 2010 2:10 pm

    that guy needs a good kick in the ass. How dare he make such comments to those kids after the horror’s they’ve seen, and not just from the earthquake, I’m sure they’ve lived it most of their lives.

Leave a Reply

