Skip to content

Annivalmas. Or Why I Don’t Get Christmas Presents

May 12, 2010

Annivalmas. Such a happy word. Ahhh it just rolls off the tongue. What? Not yours? Why not? You mean you have never heard the word before? Oh yeah, that’s because Keith and I made it up. It’s a holiday. See, a few years ago Keith and I decided that since our ANNIversary (of moving in together – Yes, we lived in sin. No, I don’t recommend it – this was before we were married), VALentine’s Day and ChristMAS all were so close together, we should roll them all together into one holiday. Hence, Annivalmas.

That first year we planned and planned. We schemed and each of us tried to outdo the other with the best gifts and tokens of love. We made plans to spend the whole weekend together – alone – without kids. We packed up our things and headed over to the Hilton for the weekend. Or I guess I should say Keith did. I was at work. He set everything up at the hotel, candles, wine, etc. and made everything as romantic as possible. We had a jacuzzi tub – one of those heart ones I think. We ate dinner in the hotel and then opened the gifts that we had worked so hard to impress each other with: I bought Keith Danzig tickets and made him a three disc compilation CD set of unlikely love songs that I still play to this day featuring songs like The Dead Milkmen’s Punk Rock Girl, Sean Connery crooning In My Life, The Ramones’ I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend, stuff like that. I received some really cool retro pinup girl artwork that is hanging in our bedroom still and a piercing gun – that, you guessed it, gets used to this day (we really did pick out good gifts that year now that I think about it!). After that? I fell asleep. I think we got in the jacuzzi at some point (I have a vague recollection of that) but sleep is what I did all weekend. Keith watched TV. I must have been tired.

We have celebrated six Annivalmases since that first one. Thankfully they have improved in quality since that first one. We have headed to Atlanta, we have stayed in Chattanooga. We have handmade gifts, we have went all out and bought gifts we really couldn’t afford. But the main point of Annivalmas is to show each other as much love as we possibly can in one weekend. And they have all been love-filled – sleep-filled or not.

Since the inception of Annivalmas, we have added a couple of more holidays to the celebration: our birthdays. At first it was Keith’s because his birthday is so close to Christmas. Then it was mine because we began recently celebrating Annivalmas so late in the year and it’s only fair to add mine to the mix too. And Christmas. Now, I know… Christmas was originally on the list! BUT we still got presents at Christmas just not as many. Now its down to three – under $20 and we only do that because of the kids and extended family. I don’t think the kids would understand why Santa ignored us when we, obviously, haven’t been bad.

So, it’s almost Annivalmas time. Next weekend. I just realized that last night. Or was it the night before? Never mind. The point is, I haven’t thought of what to do and we are broke. This is our SIXTH Annivalmas so I have to do something special! I never thought we would make it to our second – never mind our sixth! So for all you creative people out there, what can I cheaply make for Annivalmas that has love written all over it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. kristyloo16 permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:23 pm

    Oh my gosh! This makes me smile! Robbie and I are celebrating our 12th anniversary this weekend and I am at a loss as to what to get him too! We dated for 5 years before we got married, and I feel like I am all out of great ideas. One year I did 100 reasons why I love you. I typed it out and framed it. Some of them were silly like…
    #25 You have the loudest sneeze, therefore I never lose you during pollen season

    and some were romantic and sweet…we laughed and cried as we read through them together.

    He LOVES that and has never forgotten about it.

    Well, maybe this helps! Keep me posted!

    Love you!!!!!

    oh, and if you come up with any great ideas, let me know!

Leave a Reply

